Ridiculously Delicious Orange Muffins

This recipe is from my mom, who got it from a friend of hers. You don’t have to search for flavor: the citrus runs right off of the little muffin plate and into your mouth. The secret? A whole orange, quartered and put in a blender with the wet ingredients.

These were my favorite muffins growing up and have turned into a staple in my kitchen. If you know me personally, you’ve probably eaten an orange muffin (or seen me eating them two at a time; in which case, my apologies for not offering you one).

OUTRAGEOUS Orange Muffins

(Makes one dozen)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees
 
Blend on high (in a blender) until smooth:
  • 1 whole orange (quartered or in eighths—cut any way you like, really)
  • ½ cup orange juice
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup butter (melted) or oil

Mix in a large bowl:

  • 1 ½ cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 scant tsp salt
  • ½ cup brown sugar

Combine wet ingredients into dry ingredients, and add:

  • ½ cup raisins

Grease muffin tins with butter or oil, or use muffin liners.

Bake for 15–18 minutes at 375°.

Some helpful secrets:

  • The orange juice can be fresh-squeezed, from a carton, or from concentrate—use what’s already in your kitchen.
  • This is one recipe where either butter or oil is fine. I often use olive oil, and the muffins are delightful, though butter is delicious…
  • Try substituting a bit of the flour for flax meal, oat flour, or other whole grain flours for extra heartiness.
  • To plump up your raisins, let them soak for fifteen minutes in really hot water. You’ll look like a professional baker.
  • Feel free to add dried cranberries or walnuts or other caprices to your own muffins.
  • I just tried making these with fresh blackberries and marionberries instead of raisins, and they were killer!!!
  • Want to go vegan?? Replace egg with flax meal (mix three tablespoons hot water with one tablespoon ground flax meal, let sit for five minutes, then add to blender); use oil instead of butter (coconut oil is especially yummy).
  • This recipe easily doubles, which is great for lazy cooks or big families.

***

If you like this recipe, you might also like…

Whole pear dried cherry blender muffins. MomsicleBlog

 
Buckwheat Pear Pancakes. MomsicleBlog GreenSmoothie MomsicleBlog

21 responses to “Ridiculously Delicious Orange Muffins

  1. Oooh, I saw Cindi at My Convertible Life made these and loved them. Will give them a try!

  2. Pingback: Two Decadent Make-Ahead Brunch Recipes | momsicle

  3. These were the best muffins I’ve ever made. I couldn’t believe it called for the whole orange—and all whole wheat. Just the best! I am seriously amazed! (And, the whole family loved them, too!)

  4. Pingback: Whole Pear, Dried Cherry Blender Muffin Recipe | momsicle

  5. I made chocolate orange – substituted 1/4 cup cocoa and used choc chips – my fav flavour combination is orange and chocolate! So delicious – not quite as healthy, but we enjoyed them. Also tried with cranberry!

  6. Made them. LOVED them. As promised, they are super moist and ridiculously delicious! Thank you!

  7. Beautiful and simple recipe. I used olive oil and added chocolate chips to fulfil chocolate craving. Super light and satisfying muffins. Thanks Evelyn

  8. Very good muffins recipe

  9. great recipe! I love them! 🙂

  10. should I peel the orange ? can’t wait to try these…

  11. Pingback: 19 Things to Do with Overripe Fruits and Veggies Before You Throw Them Out - The Warm Up

  12. These muffins are superb healthy .
    Thanks

  13. Wow, what a great recipe. We loved these lovely subtle orange muffins. I used a blood oranges so the batter turned out purple. When they cooked they were a lovely golden color on the outside and green on the inside. So cool, perfect for St. Patrick’s day. Thank you for sharing a recipe that we will enjoy again. BK

Your Comments Feed My Blog