Very Green Smoothie Recipe

Green smoothie recipe. MomsicleBlog

I get a LOT of my fruit and vegetable servings from smoothies. I make three batches at a time and fill up a bunch of glass jars to keep in the fridge.

Then I drink two a day–because let’s face it, the gremlins and I are always on the move and if I carry around whole pieces of fruit in my car or purse, they just roll around, forgotten, until we smell them weeks later.

The most awesome thing about smoothies is they are 100% real: You see everything going in, and you know it’s good. Unlike packaged protein shakes and other fruit drinks. Plus you don’t need added vitamins because leafy greens and whole fruit have so many already.

Green smoothie recipe. MomsicleBlog

There are a million ways to make smoothies. I’m vegan with mine, because I feel like moderation with animal products is a good idea, and since I will never stop buying butter by the case to fuel my baked goods, or eating bacon, I better look for other ways to get off the sauce.

Very Green Vegan Smoothie

Throw in a blender:

Green smoothie recipe. MomsicleBlog

  • 1-2 cups loosely packed leafy greens (kale, spinach, chard…go for it! Just take the sinewy stalks off the heartier greens, because they’re hard to grind up.)
  • 1 banana
  • 6-10 frozen strawberries
  • 1/3 can coconut milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh ginger–good for digestion and adds punch
  • 2 tablespoons ground flaxseed meal–great for Omega 3s
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • honey and/or frozen orange juice concentrate–for sweetness, to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional for those who want even more kick)
  • Approx. 1.5-2 cups water

Blend on low, and gradually move to your blender’s highest speed. Because of the greens, you’ll need to blend for a long time to get this smoothie really smooth. You Vitamix and Blendtec people will be done blending in about 3 seconds, but for the rest of us peons, it’ll be awhile.

Each month I try to increase the amount of greens I put in, and to lower the amount of honey and/or orange juice concentrate so that there’s less sugar. That’s why I add the vanilla, cinnamon, ginger, and cayenne to boost flavor (plus the spices have digestive and other helpful properties).

Gratuitous picture of flaxseed meal.

Here's a pic of the flax meal. MomsicleBlog

Other choose-your-own-adventure smoothie add-ins: a whole, peeled orange; sliced apple or pear (unpeeled); and frozen raspberries or mango. Just watch out for blueberries–they tend to build up an agar-like jelly at the top of my smoothies after sitting for a bit.

FEEDBACK FROM READERS:

  • Be careful with the cayenne (especially if your family doesn’t do much spice).
  • Pineapple and pear are GREAT add-ins for natural sweetness.
  • Check out the comment below from Jamie for a great recipe for a vegan “chocolate milkshake” using banana, cocoa powder, and peanut butter.

I want to keep my smoothie recipe fresh, so please tell me what your favorite smoothie add-ins are. Any tricks to get your kids to love smoothies (mine are not into them right now)?

15 responses to “Very Green Smoothie Recipe

  1. Thanks Evelyn! I started making smoothies a couple of months ago as a good way for us to eat more spinach/kale/chard and we love it. I”m going to try your recipe today!

    • Agreed–smoothies are the perfect way to eat more spinach/kale/chard. I’m not a huge sauteed greens fan, so smoothie is my go-to greens recipe. Let me know if you have any cool tweaks to the recipe, Scott!

  2. My husband does smoothies all the time, and he has one that involves kale. I believe the other ingredients are pineapple and cardamom. He says the pineapple really compliments the kale.

  3. I am 100% with you, down to a bag of flaxseed meal in the fridge! My kids even think that flaxseed is a standard ingredient in all smoothies.

    I totally with you about the reasons I want my smoothies to be vegan (ahem, not because I’m vegan…) and cutting back on sugar. I have not tried green smoothies yet, though I want to, because I also do not have a Vitamix. I was afraid the stems would screw up my blender. (And then I’d have to buy a Vitamix? ha ha). I have some baby kale so I wonder if I could get away with chucking them in whole. (I hope it works, though I’ll continue to drool over the vitamix either way).

    I have a post that will probably never be written about my new obsession with vegan fruit smoothies made with nut milk. I found that the fruit and the nut milk combo is so naturally sweet you don’t need anything more!

    Good to know they keep so well in the fridge.

    Treatise response to your blog post, concluded.

  4. Green smoothies RULE…but…when you have a hankering for a more “deserty” smoothie, here is my favorite one: **2-3 frozen bananas, cut into chunks before freezing (even my vitamix won’t grind down the whole bananas so vitamixes aren’t ALL they’re cracked up to be people!)**1/4 cup-1/2 cup peanut or other nut butter-depends on how “buttery” you want it. **2-5 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder-again, to your taste preference, **1-2 cup coconut milk (I used boxed unsweetened T.J.’s kind but you could use any milk here) Using around 1 cup makes it thicker, like ice cream almost! While more, obviously, thins it out. Occasionally I’ll add in raw honey but that’s only when my sweet tooth can be heard over the blending. FOUR simple ingredients and Ohhhhh so good! Not so much green though! πŸ™‚

  5. Hello! Where did you get the jars to store your smoothies in?

    • Hi Tracie! I use the glass jars from other stuff I cook with: olives, roasted red peppers, coconut oil, etc. Then I try to boil off the labels so that my dishwasher doesn’t get clogged with paper labels. I started using Kerr or Bell canning jars, but I don’t like the two-part lids, and it’s way nicer to just recycle old kitchen jars.

  6. Stefanie Ebenal

    Hi Evelyn–

    Made these finally and they’re great! Not as green as yours though so we added a lot more kale than the recipe. Do you grow it or buy it?

    Stefanie

  7. Pingback: Ridiculously Delicious Orange Muffins | momsicle

  8. Pingback: Fitness Confidential Book Review (PDX Bloggers Book Club) | momsicle

  9. Pingback: Two Fall Kale Salads with Roasted Sweet Potato | momsicle

  10. Pingback: Fall Pumpkin Smoothie Recipe | momsicle

Your Comments Feed My Blog

