Pear Buckwheat Pancakes

It’s the season for comfort food and cookies–and boy do I love them both! But I also want to keep up with our trend of eating way more fruit, veggies, and whole grains.

So here’s my favorite new brunch recipe: buckwheat pear pancakes. Whole grated pear is part of the batter!

This recipe is slightly modified from the wonderful cookbook Good to the Grain by Kim Boyce, which was an incredibly thoughtful gift from my friend Wendy. Here’s a link to the book from Powell’s in case you’re searching for healthy holiday gifts… 🙂

Pancakes are sublime for breakfast, but I can never get the timing right on them for brunch. Here’s my new trick: make the entire batch ahead of time and put it in a casserole dish. Let the pancakes cool a bit in the dish, cover with foil, and refrigerate.

An hour or so before brunch, heat the pancakes in a warm oven (say 250 degrees) for 30-45 minutes before serving as part of brunch with fruit salad and mimosas. (Keep the pancakes covered as you’re warming them so that moisture doesn’t escape.)

Pear Buckwheat Pancakes

In a big bowl mix:

  • 1 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1 cup whole-grain pastry flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar (you can replace with honey–in which case add the honey to the wet ingredients below)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

In a separate bowl, mix:

  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups milk (depending on the juiciness and size of your pears, you might need more, which you can add at the end)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 medium pears, ripe, unpeeled

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, and mix.

Melt 4-6 tablespoons of unsalted butter. Mix the melted butter into the wet 
ingredients.

Let stand for a few minutes because the buckwheat flour tends to soak up more moisture than other flours, I find. Test the thickness of the batter and add more milk as necessary until the batter will drop and spread onto a medium-hot pan without being too runny.

I love making a double batch of pancakes during the week and then keeping them in the fridge to heat up other mornings. We only put honey or maple syrup on our pancakes (to avoid piling on the refined sugar, and because we like the taste better).

[Side rant: In case you haven’t been paying attention lately, refined sugars are apparently linked to bad things like obesity and diabetes, so we try to limit them. Also, I love that the high fructose corn syrup commercials tell us that HFCS is just the same as cane sugar. Great! Get fat on either one: you choose!]

On that note, happy brunching!

9 responses to “Pear Buckwheat Pancakes

  1. This sounds so friggin good! I just received a holiday gift basket full of delicious pears today, so now I know EXACTLY how I’ll be using them come Saturday morning!

  2. Love it! Can’t wait to try these. My favorite pancake ever is a buckwheat PUMPKIN! I don’t make them nearly often enough, but I’m going to have to give your store & reheat tips a try. Thanks, Ev!

  3. Whoa! Don’t be h8ing on the sugar. Overeating is the problem when it comes to diabetes and obesity. Right. So a little sugar in moderation is still on the menu? Right? Right!?
    You’d better still be baking Christmas cookies!
    Now I need to go drink a cup of Mrs. Butterworth’s to calm down.

    • Ha! How did that Mrs. B’s go down? 😉 I am totally making Christmas cookies. AND I bought a CASE of butter from the farmers market. A case. That’s 15 pounds of butter! (okay, most of it’s in the freezer) I am all about moderation! This week’s meals are all about the kale, squash, whole wheat pasta, and spinach. But we’re headed to the cookie exchange Thursday!

  4. I love this book–I’ve made about half the recipes already I think, and this is next on the list!

  5. Pingback: Ridiculously Delicious Orange Muffins | momsicle

Your Comments Feed My Blog

