Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

Food and photos on Wednesday feels like an instant pick-me-up. Hope it works for you, too!

This is peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-bacon cookie dough. Original recipe is Barefoot Contessa (but no bacon: Barefoot just does PB and chocolate). I was feeling down, so I thought I would make the cookies irrationally decadent.

My husband’s first reaction was, “They are…interesting.” When I went and flung myself on the bed (the cookies weren’t the only irrational thing in the house last night) he recanted and said they were delicious, but they just had to grow on you. I admit that mixing savory and sweet is always a gamble.

I hope you enjoy the gratuitous pumpkin appearance.

You’ll notice that these bad boys look pretty milk toast…until you bite in and get a smoky flavor. When I had a warm one from the oven, the taste made me want to throw some sea salt on top, and maybe a dollop of cream!

Any weird flavor combos that have piqued your interest lately??

14 responses to “Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

  1. My dad made bacon ice cream the last time I was home. It was really good, except for a strange pasty texture that lingered on your tongue. I think that had to do with a cream/fat/freezing reaction though. Cookies would probably be a different story. I’ll have to give it a try… since I can’t mooch any off you!

    • Yeah, that’s the problem with bacon. It seduces you and then leaves a weird fattiness behind. You have to manage it with just the right textures and temperatures. The cookies could definitely handle it! But I used the bacon grease with my sauteed cabbage instead of butter, and it left it kind of chalky.

  2. Bacon and maple syrup. Duck and grapes. Caramel and salt. Chocolate and crisps. Pumpkin and sage. Apples and cheese. Marmite and peanut butter.

    Lots of people consider these odd combinations. I, however, do not!

    • A gold star for you, Flaurena! Brilliant list that also pleases the brain to look at. 🙂 You are one of the few who have tried the cookies, so you should write a review.

  3. Last night for dinner I had waffles and canned tuna. It really hit the spot. But then again I’m pregnant. Are you… hee, hee..?

    • Sneak attack! I don’t think so, but I go to the OB tomorrow and she’ll tell me for sure. Birth control pills make me think: no. Random bacon cookies make me think…well, it’s a possibility.

  4. could we make these with the veggie morningstar farms bacon? 🙂
    I think you’ll enjoy my friend Janki’s compost cookies. http://oeufsmayonnaise.tumblr.com/post/1221554197/compost-cookies-are-like-the-brooklyn-flea

  5. I kind of trip over my tongue saying “bacon cookies.” I mean, we’re all for bacon and cookies in this house. Even in the same meal. But combined and baked together on purpose? Kinda reminds me of the time I saw lobster ice cream. Two lovely food items, yes. Together, though, maybe not as lovely. At least in my book. But I’ll trust you on this one!

    PS: You definitely sound preggers in this blog post. Sweet + salty + irrational behavior = baby on the way.

    • Thanks for giving me the benefit of the doubt. 😉 I have to say after they came out of the oven I did think that this was just a crazy idea never to be repeated again. However, they are so freakin’ good with a big dollop of almond butter ice cream on top. Nommmm nom nom nom nom nom!! Next time I make a batch I’ll send some over to try.

  6. yeah…. i’m definitely wondering what your OB said… this post makes it sound like Kpants will be big brother Kpants sometime…

  7. Pingback: After Nap Treat | momsicle

  8. Haha! Just reading through these comments now…you were preggers with Baby Woww, weren’t you???

Your Comments Feed My Blog

