Fall Pumpkin Smoothie Recipe

Pumpkins! Smoothie! MomsicleBlog

I’m done with green smoothies. It’s fall. Leaves, crisp air, scarves, you know the drill. Morning routines are going well as a fam, except for my breakfast. I have a weird diet designed to keep me from getting recurring bronchitis (no dairy except butter, no gluten, no eggs, low sugar, no alcohol). Breakfast is hard. I need something incredibly easy and delicious (I make my smoothies ahead of time and put them in mason jars in the fridge) and I’m tired of kale and mango and bananas (if you’re not tired of that stuff, you can find a recipe here).

I was complaining to my naturopath, and she recommended making a pumpkin smoothie. We brainstormed. She says that there are three things your body needs to feel full: protein, fat, and fiber. Given that I like to eat whole foods and don’t want a bunch of powders and sugars, plus I need it to be sweet enough to make me crave more, here’s what I came up with. (To see the chocolate-pumpkin version, click here.)

Fall Pumpkin Smoothie

Fall Pumpkin Smoothie Recipe. MomsicleBlog

Blend up in yo blendah…

  • 1 cup pureed pumpkin (I use Trader Joe’s organic)
  • 1 cup full-fat coconut milk (I use canned because the only ingredients are coconut and water)
  • 1 cup hazelnut milk (I use Pacific Natural Foods brand, and I prefer their hazelnut milk to almond milk because it’s more like whole milk than skim milk in texture)
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter (I use creamy, unsalted, all-natural)
  • 3–5 dates
  • 2 teaspoons honey (change to agave to make this vegan)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ice cubes and/or water to taste, for consistency

Add-ons I want to try:

  • Oats or flax meal for fiber
  • A high-quality protein powder
  • Maple syrup instead of honey for more fall zing
  • Cayenne pepper for kick and anti-inflammation
  • More cinnamon

My smoothie tasted lovely alone or over granola and flax meal.

More ideas: My friend Cyndi, a friend, mentor, and beta-tester said this: “I’ve been using your original pumpkin smoothie recipe with almond butter instead of peanut, maple syrup…and no dates (not on my approved list). Then I blended and froze in an ice cube tray. That way in the morning, I put a banana, a cup of lactose-free milk, a scoop of vanilla protein powder and 2-3 smoothie ice cubes in the blender and it’s DELISH!”

I’ll be trying other smoothie ingredient combos to play around with spice, protein, and fiber levels. So leave your ideas and trial-and-error stories for me! (I went to chocolate-pumpkin next, it’s kinda my new favorite thing. It’s here.)

Also, did you notice those squash in the picture on the weathered wooden table? We grew the squash in our permaculture garden. And now that I think about it, I actually made that table. I think I’m going to dress Momsicle up as a homeschool-Christian-prairie blog for Halloween. (Laughing hysterically.)

Let me know how the smoothie goes.

6 responses to “Fall Pumpkin Smoothie Recipe

  1. Omg this sound delish i gotta try it 😉

  2. Omg this sound delish i gotta try it 😉

  3. Pingback: Fall Pumpkin Smoothie Recipe — momsicle | Le Bien-Etre au bout des Doigts

  4. Pingback: Fall Pumpkin Smoothie Recipe | Math is Fun! No, really, it is…..

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Pumpkin Smoothie | momsicle

Your Comments Feed My Blog

