When January Takes the Color Away

I’ve been quiet.

January is burrowing into its dark nook between holiday bumptiousness and the blooms of spring. The monotony of baby-caring has been leeching my colors, and a raging sinus infection intensified the gray. Then my friend Mana’s dad Sri died suddenly in an accident.

I met Sri Shim three times. Three times is not that many. But two years ago in Hawai’i I stepped into another world and watched Sri walk into the ocean and paddle out to where the waves were breaking. I knew nothing about surfing, and he invited me to join him at dawn on the beach at one of his favorite places: Mokule’ia. He introduced me to Eddie Aikau and Pipe Masters and Greg Long. After I watched Sri begin to surf, I drove along the North Shore, stopping to eat where he had told me, and then I continued on feeling absolutely free. Tethered is a good way to describe raising young children. This day was soul-tonic. 

Sri’s death is a shock. One night I sat waiting for a news story remembering him to go live, and in my impatience I thought to look back through my photos from that day. It was a gift to see them again, and I’d like to share them with you.

Thank you, Sri.

Sri surfing. EvelynShoop

Sri surfing. EvelynShoop

 

Sri surfing. EvelynShoop

Sri surfing. EvelynShoop

Module'ia. EvelynShooop

 

***

Tomorrow I’m traveling to Hawai’i with the baby to attend Sri’s celebration of life. I’d love to ask your prayers for safe travel and a calm baby. Flying is not my favorite.

 

5 responses to “When January Takes the Color Away

  1. A beautiful tribute to your friend’s dad. I wish for smooth flying, a chilled out baby, and — should anyone give your sweet soul any grief for traveling with that gorgeous baby — your usual grace to firmly tell them your reason for travel. Godspeed!

  2. Safe travels my dear, glad you will be there for your friend.

Your Comments Feed My Blog

