Useful Summaries of Popular Parenting Books

Yesterday I was at Powell’s Books, the independent bookstore and my first true love, browsing the staff picks section. I go in sometimes to scan the back covers of books and pretend I’ve read them. Amidst the curated menagerie was NurtureShock: New Thinking About Children.

Curious.

I picked it up, though this is where I normally keep my parenting books:

fire. MomsicleBlog

(It’s warm and cozy.)

I stupidly read the back cover of NurtureShock and the familiar nauseous anxiety took over: I’ve been doing it all wrong and it will take a lot of my sleep-deprived time to read this book and figure out what all the good parents are up to.

Are you exhausted, too? Would you rather watch American Ninja Warrior than pick up Simplicity Parenting: Using the Extraordinary Power of Less to Raise Calmer, Happier, and More Secure Kids after working and parenting your kids all day?

Perhaps you are sleep-deprived because you have a baby–your first–and you’ve got a lot of books on your wish list to read, but not enough caffeine in your system to read them at the pace that your type-A personality would like.

Well I’m here for you.

Before I sent NurtureShock‘s friends to the ashy inferno, I compiled these convenient summaries so that you can feel like you’ve gleaned the core messages from some of today’s most revolutionary titles.

Useful Summaries of Popular Parenting Books

What to Expect the First Year   Everything will go terribly wrong.

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother   Stupid people are nice to their entitled children.

The Whole Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child’s Developing Mind   Your child’s mind is a puzzle, and good parents have all the pieces.

NurtureShock: New Thinking About Children   It’s too bad you parents spend all your time doing everything wrong.

OR

You told your kid ‘Good Job’?! YOU. MONSTER.*

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen, and Listen So Kids Will Talk   Kids are just as sh*tty now as they were when we first wrote this book in 1982.

Bringing up Bébé: One American Mother Discovers the Wisdom of French Parenting   She has coffee and breast milk with well-mannered future diplomats at midnight.

The Attachment Parenting Book   The children are you.

On Becoming Baby Wise: Giving Your Infant the Gift of Nighttime Sleep   Everyone else has more balls than you and they’re getting more sleep.

The No-Cry Sleep Solution   We have a miracle anti-balding tonic, too, if you’re interested.

All Joy and No Fun: The Paradox of Modern Parenthood   Your married, childless friends heard a story on NPR about this. They’ll know what its deal is.

1-2-3 Magic: Effective Discipline for Children 2–12   If you can’t be consistent, it’s your fault.

Unconditional Parenting: Moving from Rewards and Punishments to Love and Reason   You and your adult desires. Eye roll.

If you’ve read some books I haven’t gotten to, please share.

*Submitted by my friend Brita, who actually read the whole thing. Thank you, Brita.

5 responses to “Useful Summaries of Popular Parenting Books

  1. Your “bonfire of the self-help book” is the best advice I’ve ever read! Here’s a little secret: we’re all just making it up as we go, doing the best we can. Breathe!

  2. Yessss! For the ones I read (no cry sleep solution, my ass), spot on. For the ones I haven’t, thank you for saving me the time! And why do I never get more than halfway through Nurture Shock?!

  3. Pingback: “Parent Hacks”: A Parenting Book I’m Not Going to Burn (Brain Explosion) | momsicle

Your Comments Feed My Blog

