My Writing About Women’s Soccer on The Daily Beast, Bonus Photos, and Thoughts on How We Women Never Feel Totally Legit

My article “Portland Is Ground Zero for the Best Women’s Soccer in the World” recently got published on The Daily Beast! Yeeeeeeeehaw!

It’s about two great loves: gender equity and sports. Find it here.

And just for you, my dear blog readers: my favorite two photos from a recent Portland Thorns game that didn’t make it into the article. 🙂

EvelynShoop PortlandThornsVersusSkyBlueFC 06-25-14 2

EvelynShoop PortlandThornsVersusSkyBlueFC 06-25-14

I owe a huge thank you to my friend Conor for constantly supporting my writing and pushing it forward, and to my friend Mana for being an inspiration in women’s sports.

***

I thought I would feel totally legit as a writer now that a big-deal publication accepted an article, but it turns out as women we constantly struggle with a slowly waning crisis of confidence and the sense that we’re probably impostors.

The Atlantic Monthly wrote a great article about the confidence gap recently, and Cheryl Sandberg talks about the impostor complex in Lean In. It’s nice to hear powerful women talking about these everyday facts of existence. That makes me feel legit.

Hopefully as time goes on I’ll feel all puffy-chested and blow-hard about my writing. In the meantime, I’ll have to struggle with whether to move “writer” in front of “editor” in my email signature, because I couldn’t possibly be a writer–a real writer–first.

***

More photos and procrastination fodder for you about the Portland Thorns here, here, and here.

And if you haven’t followed @PDXRivetersSG and @ThornsFC on Twitter, do it!

2 responses to “My Writing About Women’s Soccer on The Daily Beast, Bonus Photos, and Thoughts on How We Women Never Feel Totally Legit

  1. Well put!
    Congratulations on this publication, Evelyn!
    ❤ Sally

Your Comments Feed My Blog

