Plan C: When Everything Mostly Falls Apart

You know how you always start with plan A, and when something goes wrong, you move on to plan B? And then when that all falls apart and the fire alarm is going off, dinner is burning, and the kids are freaking out, you move on to plan C, which, in general involves a lot of deep breathing and apologies?

We operate a lot with plan C at our house. Especially after 4 p.m.

Plan A is solid. Plan B strips out the bells and whistles. Plan C takes it to the bare bones.

I used to be a plan-A kinda gal. I could set high expectations because I was 95% sure I would meet them. Now I try to get plan A out of my head, because comparing what really happens to the ideal is not a good idea.

Are you with me, people? Expectations only lead to trouble. 

For example…

In plan A, I take my kids to a number of pumpkin patches to ensure great weather and fabulous photo opportunities of adorable children and squash.

In plan B it rains and the kids are grumpy, but they’re at least in the photos.

In plan C, I get home and realize that I’ve only taken pictures of a llama and a goat.

I consider this a win. MomsicleBlog

Or…

In plan A we brush Baby Woww’s teeth every day and he goes to the dentist before he turns two (the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry recommends one-and-a-half, I think).

In plan B we brush his teeth every day.

In plan C he fills a sink with water and throws all the family’s toothbrushes in, plus a hairbrush.

Or…

In plan A, I get some “me time” by writing a blog post and taking a bath after the kids go down.

In plan B it gets late and I just take the bath.

In plan C I forget to set the bath plug, and check on the bath after all the hot water in the house has  gone down the drain. So I sit in a tepid bath for a while, pretending it’s the world’s smallest hotel swimming pool.

Any stories you care to share from your own plan C lifestyle??

8 responses to “Plan C: When Everything Mostly Falls Apart

  1. Oh darling girl… I think I’m on Plan F these days, if you know what I mean. I feel ya. But always so delighted how you find the funny side of things xx

  2. If I had a time machine, I’d use it to go back in time and punch Plan-A-Having-Me in the face for being so smug and put together. John says this is exactly why I am unworthy of time travel.

  3. Plan C for us always seems to be about one of the kids being sick!

  4. Pingback: Let’s Talk About the Darkness | momsicle

  5. Placid's Place

    Is there anything after Z? I find myself that the absence of plans sometimes makes for the most adventurous days; at least it did when my children were small. Now there’s no plans to make or schedules to stick to, because anything I’d like to do, or make involves trying to get three ‘adults’ to all hone in on the same frequency: and that doesn’t happen often. Hence my question, is there anything after Z?

Your Comments Feed My Blog

