Simple, No-cook Red Pepper & Walnut Pasta Sauce Recipe

Vegan, hearty, simple roasted red pepper pasta sauce; Momsicleblog

I’ve been playing around with vegetarian and vegan recipes lately. The keys to success in our house are simple and flavorful.

This is my favorite new pasta sauce. All you need is a blender. Let me know what you think.

READER FEEDBACK:

  • This sauce has the consistency of a thick basil pesto. If you would like it thinner, simply half the olive oil and add in all the water from the jarred red peppers. You can also save some of your pasta water and add it in to your desired consistency. This is a good solution if you prefer less oil, as well. 

Simple, No-cook Red Pepper & Walnut Pasta Sauce

Combine in a blender:

  • 1 jar roasted red peppers, strained
  • 1 cup toasted walnuts (other nuts work as well, including pecans and pine nuts)*
  • 1-2 cloves raw garlic
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Blend on high, adding more olive oil if needed.

Pour over whole wheat pasta. Add parmesan cheese (if you’re not vegan!).

I’ve actually convinced K-Pants that this sauce over pasta is mac-n-cheese. We’ll see how long I can get away with it.

*NOTE about toasted nuts: You can use raw nuts as well–it makes the recipe even easier. The toasted nuts give the sauce a richer, meatier taste. I toast mine in the toaster oven at 150 degrees for about 5-8 minutes.

8 responses to “Simple, No-cook Red Pepper & Walnut Pasta Sauce Recipe

  1. Thanks, Evelyn…. I’ll try it soon… why so much oil?

    • Good question. I estimated how much oil I used, so it could be less. I wanted to make sure to get the consistency of a sauce, and the olive oil gives a richer flavor. But you could reserve some of the water the red peppers are packed in and use that. It’s flavorful… Let me know how it goes for you! Your comments will certainly help others!

  2. This was outstanding. Thank you.

  3. Going to make this soon! Would like to toast the nuts, but don’t have a toaster oven, suggestions with conventional?

    • Yay! And great question. I would skip the oven and toast the walnuts (or pecans) on the stovetop in a shallow pan over medium or medium-low heat. They’ll need to be stirred occasionally, but the most important thing is to keep a good eye on them because they burn quickly. Should only take a 1-3 minutes after the pan is hot. Let me know if this works!

      If you do want to stick with the oven, then preheat to 300, and pop them in, spread out on a cookie sheet, for 2-3 minutes. Check frequently. I just don’t like to preheat the oven if I’m only doing something small, but this way is easy.

  4. Finally made this last night for J and Dad a la Vegan Tuesday. Delish! Everyone enjoyed! I used half of the water the peppers came in and half olive oil. After blending I put it on the stove over low heat to warm before serving and the consistency was still a little thick for me. No problem! I added just a little of the pasta water and viola! Red pepper sauce deliciousness! Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!

    • GREAT suggestions for how to tweak! And you are right about the thickness–the consistency of this sauce is definitely more like a heavy pesto, which I will often thin out with pasta water, as well. So glad you tried the recipe out for the fam on Vegan Tuesday! 🙂

Your Comments Feed My Blog

