Airing our Dirty Laundry at Preschool

When I got to preschool yesterday one of the teachers said, “You’re going to find something special in K-Pants’s cubby today. I think you’re going to like it.”

Great!

“It was something we found on his coat.”

Hmmm…

Baby Woww’s been taking my tampons out of the box and stashing them everywhere…

“Okay, I’ll tell you. It’s a pair of underwear.”

Superman underwear?

“Your underwear.”   

My undies. Awesome!

“It was put-on-your-coat time before going to the playground. K-Pants was putting on his coat and there was something stuck to the Velcro on the front. We watched it all unfold. He pulled it off and brought it over to us.”

Awesome again! Was it dirty?

That last question was too delicate to ask, so I popped over to K-Pants’s cubby and found a pair of recently washed, black, Victoria’s Secret underwear next to his snack bag.

YES!

I had recently done laundry. More importantly, this was a validation of my no-underwear-from-Target-or-Costco policy.

I mean, my kids are going to go through all of my things, stashing them in weird and unpredictable places (I just found my good eyeshadow in a boot), but at least the preschool teachers don’t think I wear granny panties.

And as we all know, with panties you really only get one chance to make a good impression. I consider this a win.

12 responses to “Airing our Dirty Laundry at Preschool

  1. Oh my. I’m sitting here laughing, even though it’s too horrible to imagine. This brings me back to my teaching days when I knew way too much about my students’ parents. It’s a good thing teachers have heard/seen everything. And, just remember, on a good day, you can belief half of what your child says about the teacher, and she can believe 1/3 of what he says about you :).

    • Seriously! I don’t remember a lot of the crazy things I knew about everyone when I was teaching, so that’s going in my favor: amnesia. Luckily I don’t blush easily, but this was giving me a run for my money. 😉

  2. LMAO! You are going to have such great stories to tell them about their childhood when/if they become parents!

  3. My kiddo isn’t at school. I’m thinking I need to begin that “no Target or Costco” policy before he steps foot into the school.

    • 🙂 You know, there aren’t too many sure-fire ways to save your dignity as a parent. I’m glad I put my money behind this one. Let me know how it works out for you, Stacy.

  4. I guess I owe you a big fat, THANK YOU! For calling me up several months ago as you were driving to my house and commanded me to meet you at my door as you were picking me up to go ‘sexy underwear shopping’.
    You’re the bestest friend ever! 🙂

  5. Tag, you’re it! You have just been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award! http://fromtimbertotide.com/2012/12/19/how-i-won-the-powerball/

  6. Pingback: Can I Tell You a Funny Story? | momsicle

Your Comments Feed My Blog

