Road Rage Turns a Nice Girl into a Maniac

I have to be honest.

My drive to improve my compassion during Lent did not sink in.

Somewhere in the Bible it talks about how it’s no big thing to love your friends and family. It’s loving your enemies that’s the hard part.

Ain’t that the truth!

And Lent made me discover I make enemies pretty easily.

This is because I am an *ahem* assertive driver.

Here’s what happens. We have this road by our house. It’s a main drag. You may remember that I live in Beaverton, where the city planners do most of their work at happy hour and the traffic lights are chaos-engineered. Beyond those facts, on this particular street there are lots of #$%hole lanes—you know, the lanes that magically appear only to merge in a quarter mile (just enough time to cut off a few people).

Now I don’t need you to be a speed demon, but I would like you to at least go the speed limit. And you could try to make the most of the lights, since the traffic engineering is working against us.

When you blend together my impatient driving, the bad city planning, and the fact that I have to share the road…Well, it’s not always pretty.

It all came to a head the other day. There was honking. There was a confrontation. There was a small chance at repentance… But I’m going to take a page from Pema Chodron, the Bhuddist monk, and take a few deep breaths to clear my mind. I’ll have to tell you how it all went down next time.

6 responses to “Road Rage Turns a Nice Girl into a Maniac

  1. 🙂 still can’t believe she confronted you. 🙂

  2. You’re not alone. My middle digits have been known to get some exercise in the driver’s seat. 😉

  3. Hmmm…I am usually calm until some idiot gets in front of me driving like a bat out of hell and then slows WAAAAAAAAAAAAY down. I hate that! I hate it when people tailgate me even worse. I slow down when they do that and tap my brakes. They usually get the hint then. One started honking at me one day because I wouldn’t go OVER the speed limit…What did I do? I responded by slowing down to 55 mph in a 70 zone. They got the hint and went around–and gave me a “California Howdy” along the way!

  4. Pingback: Road Rage: The Final Chapter? | momsicle

Your Comments Feed My Blog

