Surviving Pregnancy Through Mocktails

I was having a conversation with my midwife the other day.

Me: What’s your feeling about things women shouldn’t have during pregnancy?
Midwife: What do you mean?
Me: For example, I don’t drink while I’m pregnant…very much.
Midwife: Explain “very much.”
___

I find giving up alcohol during pregnancy excruciatingly hard. Which is ironic because when I’m not pregnant I have one or two drinks per week if I’m feeling crazy. If I have two glasses of wine in a night, I’m on the floor.

At my first girls’-day-out post K-Pants, I had half a margarita and could barely get up from the table. Then I spent the rest of the day taking a nap at a friend’s apartment. Which, as any new mom will attest, is a very good use of your time.

So it shouldn’t be hard to give up alcohol for ten short months, right? But moderation is my middle name. You gotta give me a little bit. Just a little. Not drinking feels like being punished—and I didn’t do anything wrong. Well, except for not using birth control.

Thank goodness that my dear friends Gretchen and Marisa have perfected the pregnancy mocktail. I have them to thank for helping me stay off the sauce and also stay hydrated. Here’s my current favorite mocktail:

Pseudo-Sangria

Pomegranate Juice
Mandarin Orange Juice
Lime Juice
Lime Sparkling Water
Ice
___

Combine in amounts that look good to you. I do about 2 parts mandarin, 3 parts pomegranate, 3 parts sparkling water, 1 part lime.

Here are two sites that have other creative recipes that will keep you from throwing back a screwdriver:

Please suggest your own favorites and recipes. Really: Please do this. It will help keep me off the sauce, and I can post more recipes.

9 responses to “Surviving Pregnancy Through Mocktails

  1. So that’s what you were drinking the other night. Sounds yummy. You’ll have to make one for me next time I’m over.

  2. Loving the button. I’m a big fan of virgin strawberry margaritas. Of course, I live life in the dry lane. If you’re in the mood for sweet drinks that feel a little luxurious my favorites are Italian sodas (any kind http://www.food.com/recipe/italian-cream-soda-74617), and steamers (my favorite is Irish Cream).

    • Mmmmm! Italian sodas at home sound incredibly dangerous. But I’m already thinking about which syrup to get. How do you make your strawberry margarita??

  3. I wish you were here. We could share a couple of cocktails – you could have the mixers and I’ll have the booze. Live vicariously and all that!

    Love from Shreveport, LA.
    xx

    • Sounds tantalizing, especially if there are some bbq sliders involved. I have no doubt that you are also an excellent mocktail mixologist in your own right!! Can’t wait until you get to the West Coast. 🙂

  4. Good god! Where were all these virgin drinks at when I was pregnant all 3 times? 😀

    Times have definitely CHANGED ~! With my luck, I’ll end up driving everyone home so I won’t be able to party tonight either…Happy St. Paddy’s day all of you~!

  5. Singapore Sling:
    30ml grenadine
    30ml cassis
    Dash of angostura bitters.
    Club soda
    Sliced citrus fruit.

    Pour the grenadine into the bottom of a slim glass with crushed ice.
    Add the cassis and angostura bitters.
    Top up with club soda.
    Garnish with citrus fruits slices.

    Mojito:
    2 teaspoons brown sugar
    1/2 of one lime
    6 mint leaves
    ice
    ginger ale (or club soda, if you prefer)

    Put the lime, mint, and sugar in a glass. Muddle.
    Fill glass with ice.
    Top off with ginger ale.
    Stir.

  6. Pingback: Two Decadent Make-Ahead Brunch Recipes | momsicle

Your Comments Feed My Blog

