Lox Terrine Illustration for They Draw & Cook

For the first time in a long, long, long time I entered a contest! A real, live contest! With cash prizes! It’s probably been since the Lake Oswego Festival of the Arts that I have entered anything creative (how’s that for a memory jog, Oregonian friends!?).

My friend, Mrs. Mustard over at Notabilia found the coolest website ever: They Draw and Cook, and pointed out their holiday contest. Then Lauren at Fizgiggery helped me format my artwork when I was in electronic-file-twilight-zone.

I’m hoping They Draw and Cook will post my art. I keep checking every day (which I would do anyway because there are so many mouth-watering pieces of eye candy over there. And I much prefer Sacher Torte eye candy to George Clooney eye candy). But why wait any longer? I’m posting its miniature version here!

We always have bagels and lox at my mom’s house for Christmas morning, and I recently found a great lox terrine recipe that is perfect to pull out for the 25th.

I discovered it was quite hard to draw a lox terrine that looked appetizing. Smoked salmon and cream cheese don’t translate so well, particularly if the goal is to make people want to make the recipe. So I ended up with a collage-like party of oil pastels and watercolor pencils. If you are not convinced, here is a photo of the real thing to whet your appetite.

If this doesn’t look appetizing, then you probably don’t like bagels and lox, which is your loss, but I respect your independence.

I hope it gets posted on They Draw and Cook!

17 responses to “Lox Terrine Illustration for They Draw & Cook

  1. I was hungry looking at your illustration. The photo at the bottom only sealed the deal… I need to go find me some lox!

  2. Love your illustration. Santa brings everyone in our house a box of sugar cereal, so that’s our Christmas breakfast. (Although now that I’m getting older, bagels and lox sounds better.)

    And now I have Sacher Torte on the brain. Mmmmm… Sacher Torte also sounds good for breakfast.

  3. I love the artwork–and the photo is great too! Funny thing is, there are a lot of southern people who might see it and mistake it for a desert! ROTF! I don’t know how to do much of anything, but I’m going to start using a camera more to capture what I would like to share!

  4. NOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNONOMNOM

    I actually just had bagels and lox – with the finest shavings of red onion – for breakfast. It must have been your drawing which inspired me, for I’ve eaten such a meal three times since our e-twilight zone evening.

    (You’d better win, otherwise that site is like veal to me: boycotted!)

    • Still laughing about the veal! But how could you boycott They Draw and Cook? I wouldn’t wish that. Instead, let’s have a snub party and bring our favorite savories and champagne!

  5. Not a big fan of lox, but LOVE your entry. And the end result is beautiful. My favorite part? “Jesus was a Jew… Touche.” My BFF is Jewish, I’m Catholic — this made me laugh πŸ™‚

  6. Ready for a compliment? I cannot stand the look, taste, texture or smell of cream cheese or lox yet I LOVED your art!
    You must win. Must must must.
    If you can make me find lox terrine cute, then you must have mad recipe illustration skillz.

    • Oh, you rock! I have a huge smile on my face. The addition of elves would probably make liver and onions look good! Glad to know that we would enjoy a glass of wine, rather than lox, together. πŸ™‚

  7. I don’t eat veal either…Just can’t…

  8. OHHH. I recently stumbled on They Draw and They Cook too. AND I LOVE IT! Soooo much creativity there. Plus, I was inspired to make the blueberry scones and they were just amazing. Hoping you get published too πŸ™‚

    • That’s awesome, Sharon! I keep ogling the recipes, and I haven’t made one yet. I don’t know why! I should have cookies coming out my ears for all I drool over the recipes.

  9. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: For My Foodies at Christmas | momsicle

  10. i personally have tried this terrine at momsicle’s apt, and it is ADDICTIVE. love the sweet little illustration xx

Your Comments Feed My Blog

