Cabbage that Tastes Good

[Wednesday is the blog’s new day for food and recipes. Please send me your own submissions!]

When I think  cabbage, I think of Oliver Twist–not my favorite culinary muse. However, the cruciferous bowling ball took me in and wafted it’s great steamy smell and I somehow fell in love.

This recipe for sautéed cabbage is easy. Did I say easy? I mean it. And it makes a lot. Easy and bountiful. It’s from Barefoot, who got it from Martha, which makes me feel like we’re just a bunch of girlfriends swapping advice.

Me: I like leftovers.

Barefoot: Like my margaritas in plastic baggies? Just throw ‘em in the freezer, girl!

Martha: What about cabbage with your margaritas?

Me and Barefoot: Ohhhhh, Yezzzzzz!

And that’s how it happened.

Sautéed Cabbage from Barefoot inspired by Martha (Find the real recipe and content from Barefoot here.)

1. Chop your cabbage into approx. 1/2″ think pieces. (Core that bad boy first so you don’t have to deal with the hard nodule.)

2. Heat a large skillet to medium-high and add 3-4 tbs. butter.

3. Throw in the cabbage (you can only do about half a head at a time, and frankly, half a head is plenty. Use the rest for salad or something crisp and tangy.)

4. Season cabbage with salt and pepper, and sauté for about 10-15 minutes. Add extra butter as needed and stir the cabbage for equal browning. It’s done when it’s starting to turn translucent. Around these parts, we like it really browned.

Serving Suggestions:

If you want to get all fancy you can add some parmesan cheese and toasted walnuts, but I like it just as well plain. What really made our cabbage meal this time around was a glass of warm apple cider and a grilled cheese and bacon sandwich with dijon. Hello!

Happy cooking! Let me know what you think!

5 responses to “Cabbage that Tastes Good

  1. Yes, I also used to crinkle my nose at cabbage. Until my mother-in-law gave e a fantastic South Indian recipe. Here you are:
    – Chop cabbage just as you did above.
    – Season with salt, turmeric, and 1/3 cup of shredded, unsweetened coconut.
    – In large saucepan – like the one you have used above – heat vegetable oil. Throw in some mustard seeds and curry leaves and wait until the seeds start popping. (The oil will be really hot, in other words!)
    – Throw in the seasoned cabbage. Saute until al dente. You know, cooked but with a little bite.
    – Adjust salt as necessary. Drizzle with fresh lemon juice.

    • My mouth is watering! Move over Barefoot. This is the new go-to recipe! Is this a version of thorin (sp)?

      Also, Ms. Notabilia, did you know that studies are showing that turmeric cleans out plaque in the brain and could help prevent Alzheimer’s? Don’t ask me for back-up on this data besides citing what my mother told me. But I’m going to go ahead and say that your recipe helps prevent Alzheimer’s.

  2. Sounds great with the grilled cheese sandwiche and cider… or maybe a beer! I think perhaps some bacon might be a good addition somewhere too. I love to make shaved brussels sprouts with pancetta, and what is cabbage but a giant brussels sprout?

  3. Pingback: Marinated Vegetable Salads: Panzanella Recipe | momsicle

Your Comments Feed My Blog

